Breakfast.Lunch.Dinner | Anchorage, AK

IMG_3511

This is a small panoramic from my bike ride along the Anchorage coast (see more below)!

This week, I had the opportunity to have a 28hr layover in Anchorage! I mean…it was a-mazing!

I have to share the things I did and places I ate because it was all just too good! A day in Anchorage…

:::Breakfast:::

SNOW CITY CAFE

IMG_3518IMG_3430IMG_3432 IMG_3427IMG_3428

Snow City Cafe is the best in town, everyone knows it, hence the every seat filled. I always sit at the same exact seat at the bar which is kind of funny that it works out that way. The six or so seats at the counter are first come first serve (for us who dine occasionally for one). I find it very peaceful in this bustling cafe, I don’t get service on my phone…I just sit, watch and relax. I always (the three or four times I have been there) get the make your own omelet with spinach, swiss, reindeer sausage and Canadian bacon. It’s about $11 and the Snow City Mocha (white chocolate & vanilla) $5. P.S. THE JAM IS AMAZING! Yummy. I have heard from other flight attendants that the Kodiak breakfast with Alaskan crab cakes is also delicious. I just can’t seem to stray from that omelet.

:::Lunch:::

DAMI SUSHI

IMG_3416IMG_3415IMG_3409IMG_3410IMG_3411

Dami looks unappealing from the outside–it’s somewhat attached to the Econolodge–and you might even be second guessing still when you pass through the door. But just wait until you try this sushi! It is mind-blowing. Fresh to the max and flavor filled! I went with my whole crew, one of the flight attendants requested the Anchorage trips just for this sushi place. I ordered the “Calvin Choice” roll (which is pictured above, sorry for the poor photos).  All orders come with miso soup, a small salad and as a dessert a fried Oreo! Ha! It was surprisingly tasty and not too heavy.  This would be great for lunch or dinner, but a must!

:::Dinner:::

GLACIER BREWHOUSE

brewhouse brewhouse1

This was only place I didn’t get pictures. But things to try: every beer ;), calamari, seafood chowder, and anything else that comes out of the water just a couple hundred feet in front of you! Some of my past crews say to go here for every meal. There is plenty of Alaskan food and beer to choose from!

:::DURING THE DAY:::

RENT A BIKE!

After you get done at the Snow City Cafe, walk across the street to the Copper Whale Inn (adorable). Right in front, they rent bikes. You can rent a bike for $18 for 3 hours. They will give you a map of the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail which is breathtaking. It was so peaceful. I love a chance to soak in gorgeous scenery and/or a chance of spotting a moose! Here are some of my iPhone pictures below!

IMG_3436IMG_3433IMG_3440 IMG_3441IMG_3446   IMG_3473 IMG_3469Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset  IMG_3509Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Happy adventures!

Erika

~all photos taken by me with iPhone 5 (excluding Brewhouse logo)~

One thought on “Breakfast.Lunch.Dinner | Anchorage, AK

Leave a Reply

