Breakfast.Lunch.Dinner | Lakeview, Chicago

I can’t believe I have yet to share a food guide to Lakeview! Well, here it is!

All of these places are walking distance from the Belmont ‘L’ stop on the Red, Purple & Brown lines. Lakeview’s borders are very grey too me, it seems to be one of the biggest neighborhoods of Chicago. So, I tried to focus these go-to spots to a smaller radius, mostly on Belmont Ave. & Southport Ave.

:::BREAKFAST:::

::For Coffee & Scones:: BITTERSWEET BAKERY – I love their selection of pastries here. If you go early enough, they will usually have 8 different types of scones! (Insert “praise hands” emoji)! My favorite scone being their apricot scone. They also have great desserts if you want something to-go!

::For a hearty Breakfast:: ANN SATHER – This is a Lakeview and Chicago staple. Ann Sather’s has adorable Swedish charm and delicious food to match. This spot is very reasonably priced (each dish coming with two sides, one of them = two cinnamon rolls that will seriously make you fall off your chair)! I have heard amazing things about the Swedish pancakes, I however ordered an omelet with the cinnamon rolls and hash browns as sides. Very tasty.

:::LUNCH:::

:::Fahlstrom’s Fresh Fish Market – A great new addition to the area! We were hesitant to try this spot…just thinking a fish market can easily be a big flop. But, let me tell you that this lunch location is not to be overlooked! The clam chowder is to die for! I think it is better than those that I’ve tasted in San Fran. Their signature sandwich, the “Crabster,” is A-MAZING. So much crab! You can’t go wrong with this new neighborhood hit.

Fahlstrom's Fresh Fish Market Fahlstrom's Fresh Fish Market

:::DINNER:::

:::Ukai Japanese Restaurant – I know, I know I put seafood also for lunch…but this sushi is so delicious, I couldn’t leave it out! This spot is BYOB, which is nice too. They have great signature rolls, my fave being the Cubs Roll, Jake’s being the Spicy Rainbow. I didn’t get pictures of this place, but here is one of the inside from their Yelp site.

Ukai Japanese

:::DESSERT:::

:::Jeni’s Ice Cream – Unique flavors and homemade waffle cones…rockstar combo. I could just stand outside this little storefront and smell the air for hours. I could also probably spend my afternoon trying every flavor. My first round was the Wildberry Lavender with a scoop of the Toasted Brioche with Butter and Raspberry Jam. Any choice would be a good one! This is definitely going to be a reoccurring summer pit stop.

Jenny's Ice Cream SouthportJeni's Ice CreamJenny's Ice Cream

:::LATE NIGHT:::

:::Music Box Theatre – It is worth going here just so you can see inside this building. The theatre holds so much history and elegance. They show many film festivals here as well as an eclectic assortment of older films. They just completed their bar/cocktail space as well!!Music Box Theatre Music Box Theatre Music Box Theatre

I hope you get a chance to stop in to some of these places on your next visit to Chicago!!

Happy Adventures,

Erika

2 thoughts on “Breakfast.Lunch.Dinner | Lakeview, Chicago

  1. I already know how much I love Ann Sather (I think I caught diabetes from that cinnamon roll. and I’m okay with it.) and Jeni’s, but can we go to Fahlstrom’s next time I’m in your hood? I must have a Crabster!

Leave a comment